Miraculous Scale Fingerings for the Double Bass

Research output: Other contribution


Miraculous Scale Fingerings arrange the twelve key centers in ascending chromatic order from E to E-flat. Each key includes major, natural minor, harmonic minor, melodic minor, chromatic, whole-tone, diminished, and what the author calls "major pentatonic" and "minor pentatonic" scales. Because there are three complete octaves in every key available on double basses with a fingerboard of average length, each scale type is presented in three 1-octave, two 2-octave (the middle octave is included in both two octave scales or arpeggios), and one 3-octave scale.<br><br>Miraculous Scale Fingerings includes three fingerings for each scale: two "slow" fingerings and one "fast" fingering. "Slow" fingerings, (notated with white note heads,) have a shift on every other note and include no open strings, regardless of the key. The first slow fingering shifts on the 1st, 3rd, 5th, 7th, etc. degrees of the scale, while the second slow fingering shifts on the 2nd, 4th, 6th, 8th, etc. degrees of the s
Original languageEnglish
PublisherBasso Profòndo Publications
StatePublished - Jan 1991


Dive into the research topics of 'Miraculous Scale Fingerings for the Double Bass'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this